Step Up

I been doing the same role for almost 9 years. Its a support role, so helping people and fixing problems.

I like it because I like to solve problems, I like to troubleshoot. I like to come across something that has never been seen before, discover and gather data and then try and resolve the issue.

I used to work as a Network Engineer for an integrator. That role was more projects and deploying networks. I left that role to go back to support because I wasn’t really ready to design networks and be a consultant. I don’t know much about business to be honest and that is a major driver in network design. You need to take business requirements and turn them into technical solutions.

I was in a support role and we had an integrator come in and he was doing some voice work for us. We got to chatting and I told him my history of working in projects and going back to support. He said to me, I can’t believe you would go back to support! At the time though I was happy.

So, its been nearly 9 years. I have done on call for about 7 years of that. On call isn’t my favourite thing to be honest. I feel like I have done my on call now. I feel like its time to move on. I feel like its time to step up.

About 7 months ago, I was in a hole. The kind of hole that you grow a moustache for in November. I wasn’t motivated and my career goals I had forgotten. I wasn’t in a good spot. This was also the second time I was here.

You get to a stage when you have exhausted all though processes, you have analysed everything and there is nowhere to go. That is when you need to go and seek help.

I did…

It was a tough road, as it always is and I am still on that road. But now, I have my motivation back. My goals are energized, I sit here trying to work out how I can achieve them. What can I do right now to realise my career goals.

I’m hungry god damn it. I want to work again. I want to learn again. I want to push myself again.

I want to complete my goals and I want to be the person I was destined to become.

I’m not just going to step up…no.

I am going to stand up and never sit down again.

~Brad.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

