The Satch Files

My trip to the United States was full of surprises. After the feeling of being alone had passed and I met some people on the Contiki tour I was ready to have the time of my life.

Before I left Australia, I had looked up a few musicians that I would like to see. Low and behold, Joe Satriani was playing about two blocks away from my Contiki Hotel.

Joe has been one of my biggest idols since I started playing guitar, introduced to me by a old work colleague named Dean. Talk about destiny, Joe was playing the week my tour started and I was just down the road.

Now, another first…I was going by myself. Never been to a concert by myself before. The location was City National Grove of Anaheim on Katella Avenue. It was a sit down affair with a meal and drinks. I was seated on a table with a bunch of other people. I had a couple of drinks and made conversation. There was another guy on the table, his name was Tye from memory. He was also by himself, I believe a friend of his didn’t make it.

I think either before the show started or half way through I was talking to him about the Joe Satriani Message Board and how I had entered a competition to win backstage passes. He then turns to me and says, “Oh yeah, I won that. I have a spare ticket if you want it”.

My jaw dropped. I couldn’t believe it. Not only was I going to my favourite guitarist concert I was now going back stage to meet him!

The show, itself was amazing. I think your really need to be a musician, especially a guitarist to fully appreciate Joe’s instrumentals. He is a famous guitar teacher for Kirk Hammett of Metallica and also has taught many other professional guitarists. He also incorporates into his music Pitch axis theory and is a master at the legato technique, one of my personal favourites.

He had just released a new album as well, so he played a lot of new music from the album ‘Strange Beautiful Music’.

At the end of the concert, it was time to head back stage. There was posters and t shirts to buy. I ended up getting a poster and when Joe walked in I got to say a quick hello, tell him ‘Great Show’ and got a photo and an autograph.

Unfortunately, I have lost that photo. It was sent to me by Tye by email and I have never found it. I did have it on a Contiki website I made once which I won a free Contiki tour, but I can’t find that website any more either. I am sure there is a CD someone in a box with this photo, I look forward to one day finding it.

The only proof I have is a signed poster and ticket from Joe. It is my pride and joy and reminds me of both the trip and how lucky i was to be in the right place at the right time.

I did a search sometime ago and still on the message board is my review of the show. It reads as follows –

OpHeSiS
(Bradley Ordner)
Tue Nov 26 ’02
The Grove of Anaheim
Anaheim, CA, US
Rank: 10 Posted:
Thu Nov 28 ’02
9:29 am
Hey…that was my first Joe gig!!!! I was blown away. I came all the way from Melbourne Australia to see him and I wasn’t disappointed. His new songs sounded really good and i loved all the old songs…crushing day, cool #9 etc.

I was lucky enough to get an aftershow pass from a awesome dude I met there….joe signed my ticket and poster…thanks joe! thanks tye!

Can’t wait to see you in concert again!

Bradley Ordner

I have seen him again, in Brisbane with Steve Vai. My lovely Kerrie surprised me with some tickets.

I hope I do one day find that photo of Joe and I.

~Brad.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

